Who are Philosophers from The Age of Reason?

The Age of Reason period of the Modern era of philosophy is generally regarded as the start of modern philosophy, and roughly equates to the 17th Century.

It includes the following major philosophers:

Hobbes, Thomas (1588 – 1679) English
Descartes, René (1596 – 1650) French
Pascal, Blaise (1623 – 1662) French
Spinoza, Baruch (1623 – 1677) Dutch-Jewish
Locke, John (1632 – 1704) English
Malebranche, Nicolas (1638 – 1715) French
Leibniz, Gottfried Wilhelm (1646 – 1716) German

The Age of Reason saw a continuation of the move away from theology and faith-based arguments, and marks the shaking off of medieval approaches to philosophy such as Scholasticism, in preference for more unified philosophical systems like Rationalism and British Empiricism. The advances in science, the growth of religious tolerance and the rise of philosophical liberalism also led to a revival in Political Philosophy in general.

Along with the Age of Enlightenment of the 18th Century, which the Age of Reason gave rise to, it is also know as the Early Modern period.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s