Who are Roman Era Philosophers?

The Roman period of the Ancient era of philosophy generally continues the classical Greek tradition and is usually considered to end with the Fall of Rome in the 5th Century.

It includes the following major philosophers:

Cicero (106 – 43 B.C.) Roman
Epictetus (c. A.D. 55 – 135) Greek-Roman
Marcus Aurelius (A.D. 121 -180) Roman
St. Augustine of Hippo (A.D. 354 – 430) Roman
Boethius (c. A.D. 480 – 525) Roman

Traditionally, the Fall of Rome was A.D. 476, when the last Emperor of the Western Roman Empire was deposed, although St. Augustine and Boethius represent a link between the Roman and Medieval periods, and arguably the early Christian St. Augustine had more in common with the later Medieval philosophers than with the earlier Romans. There is also some overlap with the Hellenistic period, and the distinction is as much geographical as historical.

Stoicism and Neo-Platonism were the most influential philosophical schools among Roman philosophers, although there was also a revival of Cynicism.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s