Who are Renaissance Philosophers?

The Renaissance period of the Medieval era of philosophy covers, very roughly, the 15th and 16th Centuries. It can be seen as a bridge between Medieval philosophy and the start of Modern philosophy during the Age of Reason.

It includes the following major philosophers:

Erasmus, Desiderius (1466 – 1536) Dutch
Machiavelli, Niccolo 1469 – 1527) Italian
More, Sir Thomas (1478 – 1535) English
Bacon, Sir Francis (1561 – 1626) English

The Renaissance is named for the rebirth or revival of classical civilization and learning. In general terms, it is usually considered to have begun in Italy in the mid-14th Century and rolled across Europe over the succeeding two centuries.

In philosophical terms, the renaissance represents a movement away from Christianity and medieval Scholasticism and towards Humanism, with an increasing focus on the temporal and personal over merely seeing this world as a gateway to the Christian afterlife. A new sense of critical enquiry arose that looked back to the ancient Greeks but also set the stage for the birth of modern philosophy in the Age of Reason.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s