Who are Socratic Philosophers?

The Socratic or Classical period of the Ancient era of philosophy denotes the Greek contemporaries and near contemporaries of the influential philosopher Socrates.

Major Philosophers of the time include:

 Socrates (464 – 399 B.C.) Greek
Plato (c. 428 – 348 B.C.) Greek
Diogenes of Sinope (c. 412 – 323 B.C.) Greek
Aristotle (384 – 322 B.C.) Greek

Socrates developed a system of critical reasoning in order to work out how to live properly and to tell the difference between right and wrong. He and his followers, Plato and Aristotle maintained an unwavering commitment to the truth, and between them they organized and systematized most of the problems of philosophy.

Important philosophical movements of the period include Cynicism, Hedonism, Platonism and Aristotelianism.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s