Who are Pre-Socratic Philosophers?

The Pre-Socratic period of the Ancient era of philosophy refers to Greek philosophers active before Socrates, or contemporaries of Socrates who expounded on earlier knowledge.

Thales of Miletos (c. 624 – 546 B.C.) Greek
Anaximander (c. 610 – 546 B.C.) Greek
Anaximenes (c. 585 – 525 B.C.) Greek
Pythagoras (c. 570 – 490 B.C.) Greek
Heraclitus (c. 535 – 475 B.C.) Greek
Parmenides of Elea (c. 515 – 450 B.C.) Greek
Anaxagoras (c. 500 – 428 B.C.) Greek
Empedocles (c. 490 – 430 B.C.) Greek
Zeno of Elea (c. 490 – 430 B.C.) Greek
Protagoras (c. 490 – 420 B.C.) Greek
Gorgias (c. 487 – 376 B.C.) Greek
Democritus (c. 460 – 370 B.C.) Greek

Pre-Socratic philosophy is the period of Greek philosophy up to the time of Socrates. It conventionally begins with the work of Thales (sixth century BC). The Pre-Socratic philosophers rejected traditional mythological explanations for the phenomena they saw around them in favor of more rational explanations. They started to ask questions like where did everything come from, and why is there such variety, and how can nature be described mathematically? They tended to look for universal principles to explain the whole of Nature. Although they are arguably more important for the questions they asked than the answers they arrived at, the problems and paradoxes they identified became the basis for later mathematical, scientific and philosophic study.

Important movements of the period include the Milesian School, the Eleatic School, the Ephesian School, Pluralism, Pythagoreanism, Sophism and Atomism.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s